Can't Upload 350mb file

i gather this has historically been a bit of a problem, but i haven’t found a solution anywhere. i just tried uploading a video file that was 342 mb in size, and it just gets stuck. after a while, the bar will move over some more, but then it fails with « Your video file was too large (max. size: 8G) » my instance has 32 threads allowed to it, and 32 threads are set for transcoding. is this a bug?

Hi,

Ensure your nginx configuration is up to date with our latest template: PeerTube/support/nginx/peertube at develop · Chocobozzz/PeerTube · GitHub

it seems there are several components on this situation that are in need of an update. i am not only new to peertube, i am new to the entirety of linux, so bear with me a little.

i can’t just go update peertube my executing a scrypt, eh? because when i try, it says there are some dependencies that are below the minimum version. for example node. so do i go through and update the dependencies from top to bottom first? and then execute the update script for peertube?

ok. i updated peertube to 6.1 using the update scripts, and as part of that also ran your nginx configuraiton update script:

cd /var/www/peertube/versions
diff -u "$(ls -t | head -2 | tail -1)/support/nginx/peertube" "$(ls -t | head -1)/support/nginx/peertube"

the behavior persists. 140 mb files exhibit the same behavior. goes to about 8% and grinds to a halt. after about 5-10 minute the upload seems to finish, but at the very end the upload bar turns red with « Your video file was too large »

p.s. sometimes spamming the « retry » button seems to eventually succeed. but for some it doesn’t.

This is not an update script, this is only a command line that shows you if there are differences between the two last nginx config files. You then have to report them manually.
If you did some upgrades without checking this, you could have some missing configuration (as it only compare the 2 last versions).