Change VideoQuota value at SAML login

Hi,

I am trying to create a plugin that modifies videoQuota value of a user when he logs in. I’m using the action:auth-user.information-loaded hook to intercept the user and modify its profile.

I was able to install it but it doesn’t affect the videoQuota value as expected. Here’s the code I made just to test if I’m able to affect it. In the end, the goal is to change VideoQuota value in the peertube-plugin-auth-saml2 according to some SAML data associated with each user.

function register ({ registerHook, peertubeHelpers })
{    
    registerHook({
      target: 'action:auth-user.information-loaded',
      handler: ({ user }) =>
          user.videoQuota = 0
    })
}

export {
  register
}

I was not that confident that it would work, as it probably needs some saving and/or refreshing. Maybe the hooks happens when it’s too late too, I don’t know. I’m totally new to Angular, nodeJS, TypeScript and PeerTube so please forgive me if my post makes no sense ^^

Any idea if it can work and if I’m on the right direction ?

Thanks

With this hook, you only get the current user data. These data are not saved afterwards.

I think that the proper way to include this in the peertube-plugin-auth-saml2 plugin, is to ask the Peertube core team to add an optional «videoQuota» parameter for store.userAuthenticated method:

This will initiate the quota according to your plugin on the user creation. And only on the creation.

The dirty way is to use PeerTubeHelpers.database.query to do the modification in database. But:

• this is dirty. If the database model changes, your plugin will be broken
  • the action:auth-user.information-loaded hook is not the good one. You should to this on user creation (see the first solution)

Note: there is another solution. If quota may change, and you want to update them periodicaly: you can do a daily/hourly batch on the Peertube or SAML server, that uses the REST API to check and update every user quota.