Functioning of the /api/v1/server/followers endpoint

Hi PeerTube community :smiley:
I am a CS student and as my bachelor thesis I am studying the interconnections between fediverse instances, and PeerTube is a part of it (one of my favourite to be honest).
In order to build the connections between instances I use the public data from the /server/following endpoint, and I don’t use the /server/followers endpoint, because if A follows B, my program automatically creates the inverse relationship from B to A.

What I found interesting is that for some instances I get a number of inverse connections (followers) that is higher than the number stated in the /server/followers endpoint.
It would be ok if it was lower, because in each part of my program I check that the instances are up and running. But that it is higher is weird.

I tried to read the source code of the api but I don’t understand typescript, express, or nodejs at all, so it would be fantastic if some of you could tell me why I am observing this behaviour.
Thanks a lot and have a nice day
Answers in french/german/italian are also accepted!

Luca

Hello,

** english version bellow **
La fédération de peertube n’est pas nécessairement symétrique. Par exemple, l’une des instances que je gère a fait le choix d’une fédération asymétrique. Je veux qu’elle reste thématique, donc je ne follow personne (jusqu’au jour où je trouve des instances compatibles, avec lesquelles je me fédererais). En revanche, j’ai plein d’instances qui suivent la mienne. C’est un choix.
Il faut donc que tu compte dans les 2 sens.

** english version **
Peertube federation is not symmetrical. For example, one of my instance choosed to federate asymmetrically. I want my instance to remain thematic, so I follow no other instance. On the other hand, many other instances are following mine. It is a choice.
So, you have to count in both directions.

(dans mon pc il n’ y a pas d’accents, excuses moi, et je ne suis pas francais)