PeerTube on Synology NAS

Hello at all,

I tried to run PeerTube on a Synology NAS with DSM6 by Docker, but till now, I have no success.

I tried to work with the guide on https://docs.joinpeertube.org/#/install-docker but I guess to haven an understanding problem about how the components work together.

I do not know from where to get the information about « TRAEFIK_ACME_EMAIL » or « TRAEFIK_ACME_DOMAINS ».

Furthermore I don’t know how to run the postregSQL database and how to get the needed informations about DB-Username, Passwort, etc.

I tried to install the PHPgpAdmin package on the NAS, but it won’t run (404page).

Could anybody help me, how to make the right way of installation?

Im really not a professional, but I am always interested to learn some new stuff on my own. In this case however, I’m quite confused.

So I would be very thankful for any kind of advice and help!

Best regards - Daniel

hi @Daniel_WW

Are you using docker compose? Traefik is a reverse-proxy used in our docker-compose configuration at the moment.

It’s run automatically as part of the docker-compose. Otherwise your have to refer to Synology on how to run it natively.

Unfortunately we don’t have resources to buy, develop for and maintain for Synology devices. Your best bet is to get PeerTube to run on Synology using docker compose, potentially trying it first on your machine to get to know docker-compose.

Hi,

thanks a lot for your very fast and comprehensive response.

First I loaded the following docker-container over the docker-web-gui on my Synology NAS System: https://registry.hub.docker.com/r/chocobozzz/peertube/

Is this the right « docker compose » you mean, or do I have to use another way?

Next I tried to follow and practise the steps from docker guide.