Sustainable future of Peertube

I really like the idea of decentralized software. However, I am a little pessimistic about the peertube project. Unlike mastodon, which requires relatively small disk space, a good video sharing platform needs PBs (perhaps even Exabytes) of storage space, which is quite expensive. Personal commitments to the decentralized community are not likely to provide such a huge service.

I guess suitable commercialization is a good idea to ensure sustainability. Even Mozilla is partnering with big companies such as Microsoft, which provides revenue to support Firefox development. For example, a traditional advertisement service, or a hosting service (just like masto.host in mastodon) are some straightforward ideas. Of course, a careful balance should be designed between decentralization and commercialization.

1 « J'aime »

That’s the dilemma, isn’t it? I’m a complete newbie to this, only a day into it, and I have both hopes and reservations about it.

Hopes, because I would like to see a viable open-source and free alternative to YouTube (which is very much not free, even though it doesn’t cost anything), but I have reservations about the viability of the platform, although I think it’s genius as well.

I signed up for an account before I really understood the mechanism. I started uploading my old YouTube videos, and later was surprised to not be able to find some of the more popular videos available from the instance I have my account on. Come to learn, not all of the instances are connected (I wonder if you have to make a local copy of the data on the other instances – this would hinder your ability to connect to a ton of them). So, I find myself on an instance with a generous storage quota and no laborious requirements*, but I’m disappointed that the various instances aren’t all that well interconnected.