Working on a plugin to update a published video

Hi, I’m a french dev with some work to do on https://tube.reseau-canope.fr/, most notably making a plugin to allow updating a published video. That’s currently not possible and doesn’t seem to be in line for a near future, for reasons that are understandable but publishing is restricted in our instance, and those allowed users need that functionnality. I watched 2 of our admins updating a video with the shell, that sure was quite tedious and a plugin doing the same thing certainly would be appreciated. So, as Peertube contributions rules state that any dev work should be told first, here I am :slight_smile:

This plugin would also allow that fonctionnality to some users profiles only (checkboxes in plugin setup), with a textarea so that reasons for video update are explained and logged (along with date and user who did the update).

Also, any tip or advice is welcome as I’m 100% new to Peertube, NodeJS and Typescript, being a PHP/Typo3 and JS/ES6 dev first :D. For now I have a local peertube v4 instance running fine on Docker, installed with some help from an admin. Cheers!

1 « J'aime »

Hi, I’m a colleague of GregRc.
I copy/paste below some of our first ideas on how such a features could work, so don’t hesitate to challenge it with your own ideas.
(this feature allowing the replacement of the video source file an already existing video has granted a lot of votes and is now on the roadmap for Peertube v6 expected for the end of 2023).

So we imagine a new tab in the « Update » window of an existing video.
This tab will contain :

• a button to load the new video files from the hard disk (Questions : how to maintain the multiple import possibilities of Peertube : as an alternative, there could also be a field to specify the link to the video on youtube, no ? And for bitorrent users ?)
  • a text box to enter the reason of the replacement